Nobel Peace Prize - Articles -

Nobel Peace Prize

10-11 December Oslo celebrates the Nobel Peace Prize with the prize ceremony, a torchlight parade and a concert in honour of the laureates.

Nobel Peace Prize 2014

10 October 2014: The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided that the Nobel Peace Prize for 2014 is to be awarded to Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzay for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.
Read the announcement from the Norwegian Nobel Committee 

Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, Thorbjørn Jagland
Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, Thorbjørn Jagland
Photo: Utenriksdepartementet (license: CC-BY-ND-2.0)

Nobel Peace Prize programme 

The laureates give a press conference at the Norwegian Nobel Institute on 9 December at 1 pm.

The Peace Prize Ceremony takes place in Oslo City Hall at 1 pm on 10 December, and is the highlight of the programme. During the award ceremony on 10 December, the laureates will deliver their Nobel Peace Lecture. Attendance by invitation only.

There is a traditional torchlight parade in the evening of 10 December in honour of the laureates, who greet the parade from the balcony at Grand Hotel at 7 pm.

The day after the award ceremony, on 11 December, the Peace Prize Concert in Oslo Spektrum rounds off proceedings, with Norwegian and international artists performing in honour of the laureates.

The Nobel Peace Center displays information about the laureates as well as focuses on the struggle between opposites. The Nobel Peace Prize laureate exhibition will have free entrance from 12 December until the end of the month. 

Alfred Nobel and the Peace Prize

In 1895 Alfred Nobel drew up a will in which his wealth was to be devoted to the annual award of five prizes "to those who, during the preceding year, shall have conferred the greatest benefit on mankind".

The will laid down that the Nobel Peace Prize was to be awarded in Norway by a five-member committee appointed by the Norwegian Storting (the legislative assembly). The first Nobel Peace Prize was awarded in 1901, and it is always awarded on December 10th.

See also uses cookies

for statistics etc. By using the site, you consent to our use of cookies. Read more.