Akershus Fortress, located in the city centre by the Oslo Fjord, is a great place to discover Oslo's history and a beautiful place to enjoy a summer day.
The building of Akershus Castle and Fortress was commenced in 1299 under king Håkon V. The medieval castle, which was completed in the 1300s, had a strategical location at the very end of the headland, and withstood a number of sieges throughout the ages. King Christian IV (1588-1648) had the castle modernised and converted into a Renaisssance castle and royal residence. During the 17th and 18th century the castle fell into decay, and restoration work only started in 1899.
Guided tours of the Fortress are available to the public in summer, starting at the Visitor Centre.
May: Saturday-Sunday at 12.00 (Norwegian) and 14.00 (English)
June: Daily at 12.00 (Norwegian) and 14.00 (English)
1 July-12 August: Daily at 11.00, 13.00 and 14.00 (Norwegian/English), 15.00 (Norwegian, jail only) and 16.00 (Norwegian/English)
13 August-31 August: Saturdays and Sundays 13.00 (Norwegian) and 15.00 (English)
Free with the Oslo Pass.
Guided tours for groups are also available.
The Fortress area is used for a number of big events, including concerts, holiday celebrations and ceremonies. Changing of the guards (HM The King's Guards) takes place every day at 1.30 pm.
Norwegian name: Akershus Festning